Post #8

This semester I enjoyed the guest lecture called “Ceremonial Interventions: The agency of Place in the Ancestral Cemeteries of the Cheslatta-Carrier Nation” best. I got a lot out of this lecture. The most important thing was learning that just because something isn’t my reality that doesn’t mean it isn’t a reality. Dr. Soren Larsen was so invested in the lecture, and that made it that much better.

8975013

The people in this lecture value their places in a much different way than I do. I do not feel like places I go to have a personality. They rarely have any power over me. Just because I don’t think this way that doesn’t mean it is a wrong way to think. It also made me realize that you cannot disrespect someone’s beliefs because you don’t have the same ones. The destruction of the Cheslatta cemeteries would be like if  someone vandalized my family member’s grave.

I enjoyed this lecture the most because it opened my eyes to a new way of thinking. It also introduced me to a culture I knew little about. I especially liked it because the speaker was so passionate. Dr. Soren Larsen has spent a large portion of his career there. He is friends with these people. He cares about his work.

I have also enjoyed learning about Kenya this semester. I am glad I was assigned to the Sub-Saharan Africa blog. In the past I have learned a lot about about countries in Europe and South America. I have hardly ever taken the time to learn about Africa. The challenges of this country were eye-opening. In my week #5 post I learned a lot about the environmental challenges of the country. The droughts are unimaginable. It is hard to picture people living that way. The human rights violation were hard to imagine as well. I think that in the United States complain about the prejudice against the LGTBQ population. However, in Kenya homosexual relations are illegal. That is hard to even fathom.

I also learned a lot from my Post #4. This blog post explored the water issues deeper. The droughts seem so devastating because agriculture is their most important industry. It is hard to depend on an industry for livelihood that is so dependent on the weather. I enjoyed learning about the groups that work in Kenya to help the problem. One group was water.org. This group helps to bring clean drinking water to areas that do not have any. Women often walk miles just to bring the clean water back. It is great that groups like Water.org are working to fix this issue.

kenya-water-supply-201bf2dcecf514b8
Kenyans often have to travel far to reach clean drinking water. Groups like Water.org are working to solve this problem. This young boy is collecting water near Migori, Kenya. Blog.al.com

Overall, blogging on Kenya opened my eyes to the challenges the country faces. Honestly, before this blog I knew only a few things about Kenya. I knew that they always win the marathons and that is where Obama is from. Now I know a lot about their culture. They have so many different languages. I know so much about the environmental concerns that plague the country. They also have an interesting political situation. Some of the most interesting aspects are the political unrest in 2007/2008 and the new Kenyan constitution created in 2010. They have only been an independent country for about 50 years. I have hope that the country will become stronger in the coming years.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

